Find Me in Florida Again.

Welcome to Florida during another one of balmy Winter seasons! This is the season where we enjoy balmy Florida sunsets and sunrises, depending on which side of the state you are on. Weather during December, January, Feb., and March is 40s at night, and 60s and 70s during the day. Residents steer clear of crowded Themeparks during the holidays. We have sense. Don't say we didn't warn you. This is not summertime. Ask a resident how we live here. Answers will be various yet the same. Life is different here than "up north" or "out west". Enjoy the gifts of God, we do!Forget about what you should do and just live and try not to be rigid. The sun is shining. Look up and smile. We do.

MY TRIBUTE: The Movie, “the Paper Chase”had Dr. Kingsfield. I had this guy at FUS, my alma mater. Enjoy heaven and all your friends there. You made me listen.


I don’t often speak of my own teachers on here, but there are a few that made me listen when I was 20 something.   Taking notes with this guy was AN EVENT.  He talked faster than the Federal Express guy in those 1980s commercials.  There were no computers back then to type notes.  And there were no cell phones when I was there either. 

But keeping up with him was an event because there were NO HANDOUTS AND YOU HAD TO LISTEN.  Asking questions was an event too. You had better have a reason for it.  

And because of him,  I did well to keep notes in journalism all these years.   I now have my own system of shorthand. 

Vaya con Dios Doc.   Say hello to all my friends too in heaven.   I never mentioned that part === you’ll find out. Boy are you in for the surprise of your life.  Hey Dr.  say hello to Einstein,  while I play this on Earth.  Remember,  history is fact… but time is relative.  Remember that.  Uh,  you’ll find out.

********************************************************

FUNERAL NOTICE BELOW.   So,  a school pal of mine just emailed me to note the below.  

Beloved history professor Dr. John Carrigg, who taught history at Franciscan University for 51 years, died February 10. He was 93.

Dr. Carrigg was known to generations of students for making history come alive with his dramatic recreations and passionate love for history and Catholic saints. Hired in 1948, he taught his first classes in an Army Quonset hut in downtown Steubenville. He retired in 1999. Dr. Carrigg and his wife, Mary, raised 10 children on their farm, to which he often invited students to come out and help plow the fields.

Mass of Christian Burial will be Saturday, February 21, 10:00 a.m. at Emmanuel Catholic Church, 149 Franklin St. Dayton, OH, 45402.

Author: findmeinfloridaagain

I am a middle aged lady who is married 16 years. I grew up here in the Tampa Bay area. I am from NYC and LongIsland. I met my Chicago husband here. We have many adventures here and consider most viewpoints and love dialogue on all topics. Dialogue brings understanding and understanding brings hope.

Comments are closed.