Find Me in Florida Again.

Welcome to Florida during another one of balmy Winter seasons! This is the season where we enjoy balmy Florida sunsets and sunrises, depending on which side of the state you are on. Weather during December, January, Feb., and March is 40s at night, and 60s and 70s during the day. Residents steer clear of crowded Themeparks during the holidays. We have sense. Don't say we didn't warn you. This is not summertime. Ask a resident how we live here. Answers will be various yet the same. Life is different here than "up north" or "out west". Enjoy the gifts of God, we do!Forget about what you should do and just live and try not to be rigid. The sun is shining. Look up and smile. We do.

Life after moving across Tampa Bay; No Gasparilla in South Tampa; Life after South Tampa and other 10 min from the beach thoughts… read this.


 

 

See the above video and imagine if you lived near here.  I NO LONGER DO.  AGAIN:  I NO LONGER LIVE NEAR ALL THIS ANYMORE.  I STILL EAT MY KEY LIME PIE AND sit on a quiet beach like a real Floridian should.    It is a whole day of not being able to travel anywhere in Tampa because you cannot get outside your front door or near your streets. 

I will take this INSTEAD.  I LIVE ON THE GULF OF MEXICO SIDE OF THE BAY NOW.  IT IS CHEAPER AND MORE WORTH IT AND THE SUNSETS ARE FAR FAR BETTER. 

IMG_0615

 

After 16 years,  there is more to this area than this crazed mock  Pirate Fest that masks as an early Mardi Gra in January.  I am no longer a South Tampa resident.  We moved last June.  Ok,  you may say.  So?  And after 16 years, this is what I am saying.   It gets old quick.  Last year,  I didn’t even go near all the traffic and bead throwing.  People go nuts and get drunk for plastic beads to show off.  Then,  they throw them away and show off some more. 

Then they say:  “Arrrrghghhhhhhh”,  like it means something to the world.  And their point is? 

There is no point to all this. 

To the visitors,  it is a big deal FOR THE FIRST 15 MINUTES.  But,  to the locals,  they’ll laugh.  Out side of this parade show off where people who are nobody in New York,  try and act like they are somebody to their own insecurity.  After 40 + years in the Tampa Bay area,  I have lived on both sides of Tampa Bay.  And I found out something folks:  THERE IS LIFE AFTER LIVING WITH REDNECKS WHO used to live in Mississippi and  couldn’t make it at the real Mardi Gra in New Orleans or New O’rlins as they say up there.   That’s because they are really from backwards up I-65 Mississippi and have to sell for a living or they return to whence they came.  That happens a lot .    

There,  I said it.   I am from New York, originally.  We have a whole sub culture of us here.   Gasparilla is very overrated and well,  since it no longer goes with the State Fair as it used to do,  it is not worth your time and money and the trouble to go to.  Don’t even bother visitors to the area.  

Ok, there,  I wrote it.   The mayor can be as mad as hell at me but I don’t care.  I live in Seminole which is just north of St. Petersburg and south of Clearwater on the other side of Tampa Bay, where loads of people DON’T CARE AND STAY AWAY FROM THAT SHOW OFF REDNECK Goober smoocher mess. 

Oh yeah,  forgot one thing:  there are balls after this.  But don’t let that fool you:  these debs and kings as they call them are not the same as the society people up north. They just think they are.   You New York people know that and don’t care either.  It is the winter season in Tampa and not Palm Beach county or Miami, where their bosses live. 

It is time for the truth:  I grew up east of where this parade is and it is a suburb where people really don’t care.  It is in the majority where the real people who come from up north live. 

Again, mention any of those so called Debs and kings at their balls and most up north society people will say this:  “HUH???? WHO IN THE HELL ARE THEY?”

See, there is life after South Tampa living,  a place where it is over priced,  and all the people or most of them pay hundreds for health club memberships when I get mine for free just by living where I do. 

Perspective!  It is all in how you look at it.   I got mine for now.  Those people on Saturday do not have a 10 minute drive to the beach with a free health club thrown in at the Seminole Rec Center.  

How about a picture stroll?   See below. 

Made by Samsung DVC

IMG_0111[1]


MY POOL THAT DIDN’T COST 600k

20140729-104224-38544237.jpg


My house that didn’t cost 800k overpriced without a garage. I have one. In South Tampa, this same house would cost 900K and would cost extra for the garage and pool.

 

 

 

Author: findmeinfloridaagain

I am a middle aged lady who is married 16 years. I grew up here in the Tampa Bay area. I am from NYC and LongIsland. I met my Chicago husband here. We have many adventures here and consider most viewpoints and love dialogue on all topics. Dialogue brings understanding and understanding brings hope.

Comments are closed.