Find Me in Florida Again.

Welcome to Florida during another one of balmy Winter seasons! This is the season where we enjoy balmy Florida sunsets and sunrises, depending on which side of the state you are on. Weather during December, January, Feb., and March is 40s at night, and 60s and 70s during the day. Residents steer clear of crowded Themeparks during the holidays. We have sense. Don't say we didn't warn you. This is not summertime. Ask a resident how we live here. Answers will be various yet the same. Life is different here than "up north" or "out west". Enjoy the gifts of God, we do!Forget about what you should do and just live and try not to be rigid. The sun is shining. Look up and smile. We do.

I live in Florida. Here are my thoughts on the FSU shooting. Tallahassee is six in half hours away from me. Perspective…


I live in the Tampa area, which is almost a full six in a half hours away from Tallahassee, where FSU is located.

I work and have been very busy this week.  I have been too busy this week to comment on anything.

Why couldn’t someone have gotten this guy help beforehand???  They knew he was having issues and should have been watched.  How’d he get a gun?  Ok, so he was a lawyer.  But he was not a Florida lawyer –yet.  Our Florida lawyers go through anal extreme background checks before they sit for the bar exam and take the test.  My hub had to do so before he met me and before he had to sit for the bar exam in 1988.  He just told me that they really check legal grads out.

The closest large state university is the University of South Florida with two campuses, one in St. Petersburg and one in north Tampa, Florida.   Both libraries are huge and in my  humble opinion,  you should go through security checks just like you should go through security checks for courthouses in Florida and at Tampa International Airport. A good scanner would have caught that gun.  It would have been a deterrent. I took classes there in the 1990s and again, the library is huge.  It was the dawn of the Internet era as we know it and before you could go online with the library to do your research.

If you had a paper to research,  most of it had to be done with the reference desk in the library.  And you had to be there.  During graduate school a decade later,  it was no secret that I did most of my studying in my room or online.  Library hours up at Franciscan during the summer when I was there six years ago were less than desirable. You could go online  during off hours.   There was no time to rest.  Stay with me here.  You either got your papers and research done or you did not.

I was not afraid in either libraries.  And even now,  I don’t sit before the news and worry worry like a lot of  those sick-os.  I no longer waste my time with those religious people who fret like they are not supposed to.  I was aware but not afraid.   I was never afraid.  I kept Fox News off.  I was too busy getting an education to worry about the garbage these people don’t pray or act on in a positive way.  It was not even a concern of mine.  Again,  I was too busy getting my work done.

As a general rule,  most of those Fox News people are not really Christian.   It is all about mamby pamby fear that begets garbage actions like this.  It feeds paranoia that sick0 people eat and act on.  Real Christians act on love,  not fear.   Really good people act by being aware of other people’s dignity and choose actions that way.

Why couldn’t someone have helped this guy before he did what he did?

I don’t want to bring this up but this triggered the need to do so.  In the summer of 1981,  a mentally ill man here in  in the east low income section of Tampa took a thing of gasoline and sprayed it all over a checkout counter at a local supermarket.  One of the gals there was burned to death. She was a high school classmate.

My point is this  no one helped this man before he went wild and acted on his mental illness.  About a week or so before  this,  there was a sign near  the market  “XX person  see Fire”  .

We need to help folks  who need it.   We need to help them no matter who they are.

Got that ?

Author: findmeinfloridaagain

I am a middle aged lady who is married 16 years. I grew up here in the Tampa Bay area. I am from NYC and LongIsland. I met my Chicago husband here. We have many adventures here and consider most viewpoints and love dialogue on all topics. Dialogue brings understanding and understanding brings hope.

Comments are closed.