Find Me in Florida Again.

Welcome to Florida during another one of balmy Winter seasons! This is the season where we enjoy balmy Florida sunsets and sunrises, depending on which side of the state you are on. Weather during December, January, Feb., and March is 40s at night, and 60s and 70s during the day. Residents steer clear of crowded Themeparks during the holidays. We have sense. Don't say we didn't warn you. This is not summertime. Ask a resident how we live here. Answers will be various yet the same. Life is different here than "up north" or "out west". Enjoy the gifts of God, we do!Forget about what you should do and just live and try not to be rigid. The sun is shining. Look up and smile. We do.

READ THIS: I am an ex Long Island resident who wrote to Mr. Archbold, a conserv Cath columnist who thinks he knows betta. It is after the flood. RT


 First a side note during my coffee break this morning.  I did this while waiting for a legal phone call.  It took me all of the 15 minutes that I have for my break.  This guy and the other Archbold write for this Creative Minority Report.  They overemphasize the Latin Mass and well,  have what I call issues with trying to be too perfect.  
They are floating now this morning.  Time to get real.    This is the letter I wrote Pat just because I could and so I did.  It is done.  I sent it already.   I pray for their conversion because they think they are sooooo perfect.  This is why NY men are coming south to become priests here in our Diocese.  My pastor is one of them.  He also is from up there.  
I don’t say Fahgetaboutit.   I remember.  Hey anyone who knows these characters:  THROW THEM GREAT SOUTH BAY.   They need to swim to Fire Island WITHOUT THE FERRY HELPING THEM.  THEY WON’T BE PRAYING IN LATIN THEN.   Good luck people up there who have to deal with them.  They should know bettah.  
Dear Mr. Pat Archbold:
I hope this finds you well and living in God’s common sense.  You all were SORT OF in my prayers this morning.  After a flood like that I figured that
both of you needed it.
First things to say:  1.  I am from up there.  2.  I was born in Manhattan,  a place where it floods. 3.  I have lived in Tampa Bay since I was 7! 4.  We are used to this. 5.  This happens every summer at 3 to 4 pm it rains.  6.  WE PREPARE.  
 
ENCLOSED  AND ATTACHED IS A HURRICANE PREPAREDNESS KIT.  THIS INCLUDES A MAP,  A LIST OF OTHER ARTICLES YOU WILL NEED THAT WE USE EVERY EVERY SINGLE YEAR.    By the way,  we are going to be nice here.  Here’s the link for those with common sense. 
http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/    We watch this like all “get out”.  
 
Things you bone heads will need when you are not playing NY bravado with floods.  (*better luck next time.) 
1. flashlights.  
1b.   comprehensive flood insurance for your car and home. 
1c.  no balls because now you have the sense to stay home and stop playing Yo Vinnie and trying to go OUT DAYYRE. 
2. batteries.   OVER BUY ON BOTH OF THEM. 
3.  ENOUGH CANNED FOOD FOR A MONTH. 
4.  COOLERS 
5.  A PLAN TO GET ICE.  Have 10 bags of ice when you hear the storm coming.  We are used to getting prepared.  We over prepare because there are some people who think they have bigger boobs or balls and do not prepare because they think they are New Yorik God. Sorry you are not and it is still raining and you are still flooded. And not only that you are still floating.  
6.  COOFFFFEEE.   
7.  tools to sludge mud after the flood. 
8.  a truck full of sand and enough sand bags
9.  A GOOD SHRINK WHO CARES BECAUSE THE REST OF MAY OR MAY NOT CARE DEPENDING ON our own drama. .  
10.  bottled water 
11.   You should know better than to go out there in that flood.  
….. 12.   And so forth.  
 
I can only expect that  after living here for the past 40 years getting ready for things like this has been a part of my life.  WE here in Tampa Bay and all of Florida get ready for summers like this.  Most of us have a kit or know how to hunker down.  And that doesn’t mean bars or alcohol.  
And people outside of your little ISLAND DO NOT ALL SAY FAHGETABOUTIT.   They are not going to all want to buy a car that was in the water for days or whatever.  
 
I am still praying for you all.  I used to live in West Islip when I was very young.  I am 51 now and well,  being passive about stuff like this is no longer a part of how it is done.   I am praying for you because all this Latin you write about is menial compared how much you should be helping your brothers and sisters around you after this flood.   They are not going to care about how perfect you do things and how perfect you kneel in church.  By the way,  my old parish was Our Lady of Lourdes and Our Lady of Grace in West Babylon.  And yes,  Pope Benedict emertius has been to St Cyril and Methodius to oversee and witness my Aunt and late Uncle’s wedding in December 1969.  
 
You are now going to be tested as to how well you handle real stress.  We do it all the time here.  Too bad you don’t have 90 degree heat.  Oh,  I am going pray for a serious heat wave that you will have after the clean up of all this storm.  I am laughing because I am taking bets that you cannot hack this.  Keep praying your Latin because if you pray it loud enough most of them will want to throw you in the mud and leftover sewer water as it dries up.  
 
God bless you.  We are secure in our faith here.  We have been there and done this.  If you need anything,  write us.  We will think about it, depending on how you behave up there.  Personally,  I think you overemphasize too much on all this traditional garbage like the Latin Mass, instead of helping your brother or sister who needs your help.  And there is too much emphasis on what the priests or the dioceses are DOING WRONG instead of what is right!   There is also too much emphasis on hounding priests and patronizing them and talking behind their back as to what is right and wrong.   We try not to do that here.  That is why our churches are growing and we all or most of us have serious prayer relationships with a God who loves us and doesn’t expect us to pray in Latin to impress Him.  
 
I hope this flood helps you that when the next mess of water invades your cars or basements,  getting the exact Latin will not make the insurance man come faster.  
 
 
Love with all our lessons that we and God could teach you through this: 
The people of Tampa bay and Jeanne Diener Stark, ex New Yorker who has been dere.  
Author: findmeinfloridaagain

I am a middle aged lady who is married 16 years. I grew up here in the Tampa Bay area. I am from NYC and LongIsland. I met my Chicago husband here. We have many adventures here and consider most viewpoints and love dialogue on all topics. Dialogue brings understanding and understanding brings hope.

Comments are closed.