Find Me in Florida Again.

Welcome to Florida during another one of balmy Winter seasons! This is the season where we enjoy balmy Florida sunsets and sunrises, depending on which side of the state you are on. Weather during December, January, Feb., and March is 40s at night, and 60s and 70s during the day. Residents steer clear of crowded Themeparks during the holidays. We have sense. Don't say we didn't warn you. This is not summertime. Ask a resident how we live here. Answers will be various yet the same. Life is different here than "up north" or "out west". Enjoy the gifts of God, we do!Forget about what you should do and just live and try not to be rigid. The sun is shining. Look up and smile. We do.

It is Monday. It is lunchtime and here’s what we sold at all those esate sales in the past two months.


 

 

It is Monday and it is lunchtime. We have been here two months. 

There are things about Tampa I miss and things I do not miss. I don’t  miss having to pay $700 a month to a man who hasn’t paid off his house in Illinois HIMSELF.  I DON’T MISS  THE MOLD BEHIND THE BOOKCASES.  I have a picture of this that I took before we moved from there. 

 

IMG_0809

So,  it is the last week of waiting on the paperwork that will allow us to sell my husband’s father’s 2007 Lincoln Town Car that has only 14,000 miles on it.  That is the last thing we have to or get to sell and put this all behind us. 

There I wrote it.  This is why we have been trying to get rid of all the junk in the house that wasn’t tied down. 

IMG_0238[1]

So being that school is not in session and most of the Florida courts are on a slow schedule,  we thought it would be great to get rid of all the junk  that was in the house when we moved in.  You see, there was all this stuff that my husband’s Father used to get around like his two motor mobility scooters and a wheelchair.  We also had a few walkers.   We ended up selling all of it with the exception two walkers and three canes.  Remember he was 87 when he died.

We made a total of $3000 TOTAL.  That’s $3000 that we didn’t have to put on a credit card like some people would have done.

Here’s what we sold this summer:

  1. TWO MOBILITY SCOOTERS
  2. BOTH OUR BIKES that went early.  I didn’t want to sell them but I am going to get another
  3. My guitar and instruction books. That went early also.
  4. Our Television and sound system from 2006.  The HD TV stand was broken and I want to get a new one.  The cords on sound system drove us nuts.  It was from 2005.
  5. ONE WHITE  MICROWAVE .  I proved you can live without it. When you can cook, you don’t buy convenience foods to nuke.
  6. ONE PATIO  SET
  7. ONE SET OF PATIO BAR STOOLS.
  8. ONE BRASS AND WOODEN FRUIT BASKET. I was seriously glad to see that go go go.
  9. ONE ANTIQUE BEAT UP IRON PATIO SET
  10. ONE 2002 CHEVY MALIBU FOUR DOOR CAR THAT HAD OVER 100k MILES ON IT.
  11. ONE JUNK FILE DRAWER FILLED WITH RUSTED OLD TOOLS. (*I CANNOT BELIEVE THIS MAN PULLED UP IN A TRUCK AND HAULED IT AWAY BACK IN JUNE.)
  12. COUNTLESS NICK NACKS I WOULD HAVE THROWN AWAY.
  13. THREE RINGS
  14. A SET OF  TWO DOZEN KNIVES THAT POP COLLECTED. (*We sold this early on to an antique  dealer.)
  15. Collector’s coins that a dealer bought.
  16. one ikea Lack table.
  17. one patio cart sold for $75.00
  18. three bags of golf balls.
  19. Other two items that I could not even stand to have in the house.  Don’t ask.
  20. One Swiss army knife.
  21. One Expedit  bookcase — mine also.  The guy who bought the scooters wanted it and I threw that in for good measure.  I sold that thing at near cost.
  22. one metal bucket.
  23. Ash trays and other nick nacks that an antique dealer bought.

 

…. and that is bout it. 

I have to laugh that there have been countless flaggings of craigslist announcements over the past eight weeks.

Sorry  but that didn’t hurt us.  It seems that there is a war with competing sales and then, they flag you.   I may not even go on that listing site again. Signs on the road work. 

I also have to laugh that there even was an instance that a real estate man came and thought he was going to buy the house out from under us.  I told him to get the %^&* off our land that we own outright.  I asked him if he had his house paid off.  He ran to his car. I should have kept his card and called the Florida Real Estate Board in Orlando to report him.

And I had to laugh at our counting how when it gets very hot in this area there are Garage Sale Estate Sale nerds that drive by in their cars because they don’t want to get out of their comfy air conditioned cars.  I counted a total 20 on one given Saturday and 10 on a given Friday near the lunch hour.  And we have been doing this since the middle of June.  We moved here on June 6 and 7th.

HOW RUDE TO DO THAT.  I TOOK PICS OF THEIR LICENSE PLATE NUMBERS.

I took a picture of most of them.  Our neighbor across the street was laughing out loud when I used the mini- mega phone that has an alarm that the whole neighborhood can hear.

And so,  we are supposed to be donating all of the dining sets that I have been trying to sell. It seems that no one eats at a table anymore.   I tried to get rid of two living room sets to two estate dealers in Pinellas Park and St Petersburg, Florida, but they were seedy and didn’t show up when they said they would show up.  One guy on the phone said “I promise I will be there.”  But then he calls ten minutes later with a drunk sound to his voice and says,  ” I have problems and just send me pictures of what ya gots. HIccups. There’s no way I am coming.”  And this guy does business with the Indian owners of motels around the state.  He sells and buys old furniture to them.

I wonder if they would like to know how unreliable he is?  Those Patels are very precise business folks.

Another Facebook furniture dealer high school grad lady in New Port Richey,  north of Tampa got cute and emails me, “Dear Hunnie, (*sic sic cha cha cha stupid), I  don’t want to buy tat.”   She, needless to say, is no longer in business in New Port Richey. Then,  Miss Hunnie Geography genius who is now divorced calls me on my cell phone and starts yelling at the top of her lungs, ” I don’t want to go to Seminole County.”

Dial 1800 Duh and seewho you get? !  Her!

Now readers Google Map where Seminole County, Florida is and Google city of Seminole, Florida.  See?  You are smarter than” Miss Hunnie Geography I am divorced because I have no social skills Genius”.

The amount of stupid these people think they can pull over you is amazing.  I laugh at the other blonde short lady who pulled up started looking and lifted my in laws silver plated piece and offered me a dollar for something that was worth way more than just a dollar.

The people of Walmart went and shopped for their good clothes and ended up at our sale. And it is very funny (*sic I wrote funny, not FUNNIE) when my dear husband laughs at my wanting to post rules for the VERY LAST SALE WE ARE GOING TO HAVE BEFORE THE Court Probate Paperwork makes Papa Stark’s death very final. 

I already know what those rules are,  so stay tuned.  You are going to laugh your butts off.

Meanwhile,  I am resolving at this very last sale to take pictures of alllllll the cars that drive by with the AC on because they don’t want to get out of the car.  I may even video it.  Heck, we are going to donate what is left.

And maybe even keep a video recorder on the heavy traffic moments with a warning that this “area is under video surveillance.”

I don’t know.  We are thinking about doing this.  I just can’t wait until our vacation and the moment when all this is over and that big car is gone.

Uh,  the lunch order just came in after my husband went to get it.

I have work to do now.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: findmeinfloridaagain

I am a middle aged lady who is married 16 years. I grew up here in the Tampa Bay area. I am from NYC and LongIsland. I met my Chicago husband here. We have many adventures here and consider most viewpoints and love dialogue on all topics. Dialogue brings understanding and understanding brings hope.

Comments are closed.