Find Me in Florida Again.

Welcome to Florida during another one of balmy Winter seasons! This is the season where we enjoy balmy Florida sunsets and sunrises, depending on which side of the state you are on. Weather during December, January, Feb., and March is 40s at night, and 60s and 70s during the day. Residents steer clear of crowded Themeparks during the holidays. We have sense. Don't say we didn't warn you. This is not summertime. Ask a resident how we live here. Answers will be various yet the same. Life is different here than "up north" or "out west". Enjoy the gifts of God, we do!Forget about what you should do and just live and try not to be rigid. The sun is shining. Look up and smile. We do.

Taking a break from the Estate/ Garage Sale stuff today. Read this about what my summer has been like.


 

This Summer,  2014 has NOT BEEN  a normal summer here.  My FIL is gone, but not forgotten. And moving into his house has been an event that I will never forget EITHER.

Being it is the 31st of July,  I will admit that not having a house note such as rent or a mortgage has been great.  I would love not to rub that into anyone’s nose, but it is too tempting.  My in-laws were kind in their provision for their son.  I am laughing about that one.  Anyhow,  I am 51 and well,  it is nice to be ahead in this way.  

But we are still not totally unpacked from early June.  After a two in half hour sale yesterday, 

So, what is a normal Summer?  Hmmm,  we usually take a lot of road trips and go everywhere.  But not this summer.  We have been stuck working catching up on case work and trying to sell EVERYTHING THAT IS NOT TIED DOWN. 

I NEED put a list of all the things we have sold.  It is a long long list.  I am impressed that we completed and sold all that we did!  How about next post I do that!? I have to think about it.

This has been the Summer of moving in and the permanent Estate and Garage Sale. We have been having one of those Estate and Garage Sales about every third day to get rid of all this JUNK my in-laws kept.  Sorry folks,  I am a minimalist. I would rather have a clean line of no junk or no clutter.  That’s how it is.  The less stuff the better.  And the less the bills that go with the less stuff and the simpilier the better.  It has to be functional.  I keep things but I know where that is.  Everything has a place. 

And not only that, but my husband has taken his legal practice half time because this has been another job unto itself.  I have been helping him with this and negotiating all  through the bottom feeding Estate dealers and other good and bad people . 

We have watched our SHARE of weirdness this summer.  It has turned both of us a bit smarter on the subject of human nature.

 I should have taken a picture of yesterday’s episode.  One blonde lady pulled up and offered me a dollar for a family heirloom that was worth at least $40.  This was after she insisted that I pull out a plastic lounger from the back of the house on the porch.   My hub who was in the middle of working on case work in our study,  had to secure our Beagle, Alfie who was stirred up and howling.  Before I yelled in to “get the lounger on the porch”,  I told her that she had no way to carry it out of here.  But she still insisted.  Then I told her AGAIN, “unless you have a truck,  it is not happening!”  But being too nice I yelled “get IT”. So,  hub did get “it”. 

By the time I pulled that large white plastic lounger into the garage,  she was like yelling “no way do I want that”.  Another day for front yard psychiopathic weirdness.  I need a van to haul these strange and unusual folks away.  And I am making a promise never to keep anything past my  60th Birthday in less than 10 years.

Not only that but the sweat just drips down our back while we are out there in the 90 degree humidity and heat.  I always wonder what would the weird perfect bloggers do?  What would the know it all Catholic bloggers do?  Answer: they are not here and prefer to look down on us when they wouldn’t do it themselves.  We need to give them all woolen suits and black laypeople habit and warm coffee so they can dress for the snow  of the Summer.  We dare them.

 I need better rules here. So during the next week’s series of sales where we get rid of all of it,  there is no way you are going home WITH ANYTHING WITHOUT A TRUCK.  WE ARE going to post signs that this is THE RULE OF THE sale.  We are not waiting for you and unless you come prepared to haul it away,  it is not happening. 

Friday’s coming and well,  we have about one more week of doing this.  I look out in a created fog and think one more week until this nightmare is over.    The funeral was easy.  Christmas was almost easy and so was last Thanksgiving and even Easter was nice.  But we knew this was coming,  so we put this off to the slower summer months. 

Just wait until the stories from trying to sell the 2007 Lincoln Town Car in the Garage now.  It has less than 15,000 miles on it.  I swear to God and promise that I am going to take pictures of every bottom feeding car lot idiot there is that low balls us on what this luxury is worth.  I am going to put their names address and phone numbers out there on here, social media heaven and make them like it.     But the individual who gives us what I think this car is worth (*19,000) is going to be lauded as God’s helper. 

Sorry Catholic blogger idiots, there is no note on the car either.  We don’t have to take that back either.  We have been working since most of you have been alive.  We have the skin care and self control to prove it.  You are behind.  We like to remind you of that.  We just had to throw that one in, plus the fact that we have more experience than you will ever have and most of you run your entire lives by some dumb script that we have no intentions of ever following for our lives. 

That’s what’s next after this.  That and a nice trip to my husband’s law school brother who is working on the legal side of this estate stuff for us.  He is the super hero of all this.  The thing in Florida is the homestead, which keeps people from being able to put any liens on homes that people live in here.  Yeah,  yada yada and all that legal smada  that readers here haven’t a clue about what I would be talking about if I did type this out at length to even try to explain what is happening legally.  So,  forget that. 

So we are going into our last weekend of all this stuff that we still have to do.  And while we do,  we are wondering if we are still going to get a vacation when it is over and done.  We are supposed to go west for my hub’s cousin’s wedding.  It depends on whether the legal stuff is over and done with here.  We don’t put stuff on a credit card that we have to pay off.  It is not financially sound to do that. 

Are we going to make it?  I hope so.  I have hope now.  There is still a light at the end of the Estate dark tunnel.  . 

 

Author: findmeinfloridaagain

I am a middle aged lady who is married 16 years. I grew up here in the Tampa Bay area. I am from NYC and LongIsland. I met my Chicago husband here. We have many adventures here and consider most viewpoints and love dialogue on all topics. Dialogue brings understanding and understanding brings hope.

Comments are closed.