Find Me in Florida Again.

Welcome to Florida during another one of balmy Winter seasons! This is the season where we enjoy balmy Florida sunsets and sunrises, depending on which side of the state you are on. Weather during December, January, Feb., and March is 40s at night, and 60s and 70s during the day. Residents steer clear of crowded Themeparks during the holidays. We have sense. Don't say we didn't warn you. This is not summertime. Ask a resident how we live here. Answers will be various yet the same. Life is different here than "up north" or "out west". Enjoy the gifts of God, we do!Forget about what you should do and just live and try not to be rigid. The sun is shining. Look up and smile. We do.

ST http://youtu.be/e5TF4U36GFg and http://youtu.be/e5TF4U36GFg Reflections on Christmas 2013 and the weather here.


It is Sunday morning.  There is no snow.   But for a Floridian like me, Christmas is in the heart and not in the weather.  There are deeper meanings of Christmas.  I have to sigh at that.   It was a real advent. 

If you are that exterior superficial,  then you need to think about what Christmas is all about.   I don’t give a hoot if you have to shovel snow. I suffered in 90 degree heat for three months this summer.  Christmas is not about snow.   It is not ’bout being better than everyone else in a holy better than you blogger way. 

Because I usually and always have a list, I like to take my time on Sundays with my Starbucks Christmas coffee and not rush to Church and worry about these stupid other bloggers who for one stupid insecure reason or another ban people they think are not good enough.  I don’t care. I don’t worry about whether the Mass is Latin,  the music did something bad or whatever the latest garbage those NCregister.com  people would bitch and moan about here.

And I don’t give a blop about who Mr. Longbeard of Duck Dynasty is.   It doesn’t matter to me.  I have had a diverse crowd of people in my life.  I know Gay and Straight and black and white and polka dotted people.   You  bigots didn’t create these people and more than likely do not support them in their struggles and don’t care about them when they do struggle or have a joy in their life. 

I am confident who I am and I let them be themselves to one day they will get to their final positive destination.

The pals I have have been there for me since the 1970s.   That is a serious gift.   One day I will write about what I never even could talk about.  I have never even written about this stuff longhand.  It is going to happen.  And I need to quit being scared of the garbage fear myself when it  comes to this. 

Boy,  readers if you knew you would be knocking on my door asking a lllooooooot of questions.   It was hard to keep quiet for years and years and not even think about all  the positive he got me involved in.  It was part of my education and taught me a whole lot about Einstein and his Theory of  Relativity.   

My Dad was an engineer who worked for the U.S GOVERNMENT and was involved in a program that was educational and scientific.  He pulled me into it.  It was part of his job. 

I miss him.   He has been gone from this life since 1994.  He has been gone for the past 20 years. 

But as for this Christmas and any Christmas,  Yes, I usually have a long list of things I need to do that are household chores.  Today’s list includes cleaning out the convertible and washing the white leather couch with this new dollar store stuff that was recommended to me.    You see, my dog Alfie the Beagle drags dirt in with his paws after his potty walks.   I need to keep the house/apt verrry clean.  I just had the living room and hallway rugs done. 

Even my pastor banned me from commenting on his  Twitter page.  All I said was this:  “Why are not more Catholic people becoming foster care?”.
This happened a few months ago when I got looked at as not doing enough for the pro-life efforts.    My husband and I were taking care of his ailing father’s estate and visiting him every day in the VA nursing home.  And we were doing all that while going to Foster care 10 week class and trying to work and earn a living.

Then,  I made that comment and asked a question.  Then I saw this.  Sorry,  Father, but I have a blog with 300 people.  He came up to us about a week later and offered his condolences but never ever removed the Twitter ban.  

You have been blocked from following this account at the request of the user. 

Fr. Len Plazewski      

Fr. Len Plazewski      

@FrLen      

Pastor of Christ the King in South Tampa; a native of San Antonio, FL & a graduate of Jesuit High School & both the Florida Seminaries. I love being a priest!

            Tampa                             ·           CtK-Tampa.org

While it is just him,  I am not blocked by the associate pastor Fr. George.  Here’s his Twitter account.  He is a nice guy.  I have about 300++  people reading my junk here on Twitter and WordPress.  

Fr. George Mabura      

@Fr_iMabura             follows you      

I am Roman Catholic priest. Faithful to the Holy Father and the Magisterium of the Catholic Church. Praying for your intentions everyday.

            Kenya                             ·                                   

Stuff like this doesn’t bother me,  because I can consider the source of it all.  When this happened,  I felt like stopping my church attendance.  I didn’t even do my Advent wreath this year.  I can’t find the wreath.  It hides somewhere

It has been a weird year.   I look forward to this next year.   We passed our  health inspection for Florida Foster Care.  Good things are on their way. 

In spite of  it all,  bad things have happened this past year.   Harry, my Father-in-law, 87 died on November 1st.  It wasn’t easy letting him go.  We were on the local Gandy Bridge when they called us and told us that he was gone.  

But in the weirdness of it all,  I don’t have to be like everyone else.  I don’t have to worry like them.  He left us a house.  I don’t want to write that it was paid for but IT IS PAID FOR.  THAT IS A SERIOUS FACT.  You all who read me cannot dodge this.   I cannot dodge this.  I am not moving into it though.  We are going to try and put it on the market.    Hopefully,  we can sell it quick.  It is a FOUR BEDROOM TWO BATH HOUSE NEAR NORTHERN St. Petersburg.  

And even all while I was out shopping yesterday,  I had to be thankful for the three dollar valet parking at our local mall.  I was thankful that I do not take second best and have the wherewithall to stand up and not take second best.   I was so so grateful I gave them an extra tip so they could go and get a drink between running back and forth between the reserved lot and their kiosk. 

It was hot yesterday.  They were sweating.   They helped me break a $100 bill. 

I  even had my packages  wrapped for Salvation Army, who does a lot of work in my local community for the homeless.  I don’t believe what some of these looser bloggers write that the Salvation Army supports Abortion.   I don’t care.  Most of these  Yo Yo bloggers do not even check their facts.  They don’t know how to check their facts.   And anyone of them that I challenge to go further,  I get banned.  

I don’t care who is right or wrong.    I am older than most of them and well,  I have been doing this writing thing longer than most of those little adults who cannot think HAVE BEEN ALIVE.   

Those are the facts.    I hope they check them.   Most of them need to take responsibility for their actions.  And most of them don’t. 

Below is the weather that we deal with here in Tampa.   That is my reality.    I like it here.  It is at least six hours driving time away from people who must complain about things not being perfect.   As for my pastor,  well,  he’ll come around.  I kind of wonder what is going to happen when we walk in with African American kids who are in our care in a month or so.  

I am going to be tempted to record every one of them and tell where their business is.  Bigots do not do well when the truth comes out. 

But until a few more weeks,  I am going to enjoy the warm weather and think about wearing a short skirt to show off my legs that are not fat.  I dropped a couple of dress and jeans sizes while I have been on this holiday diet.  

See here   for Charlie Brown Christmas.  http://youtu.be/e5TF4U36GFg

Remember,  Christmas is not about the people or the weather.  It is about having peace and not spending an extreme amount of money to show off.  It is not about kneeling correctly. 

It is about peace inside and Peace on Earth.    And let it begin with me, while I get another Florida suntan.

]

Author: findmeinfloridaagain

I am a middle aged lady who is married 16 years. I grew up here in the Tampa Bay area. I am from NYC and LongIsland. I met my Chicago husband here. We have many adventures here and consider most viewpoints and love dialogue on all topics. Dialogue brings understanding and understanding brings hope.

Comments are closed.