Find Me in Florida Again.

Welcome to Florida during another one of balmy Winter seasons! This is the season where we enjoy balmy Florida sunsets and sunrises, depending on which side of the state you are on. Weather during December, January, Feb., and March is 40s at night, and 60s and 70s during the day. Residents steer clear of crowded Themeparks during the holidays. We have sense. Don't say we didn't warn you. This is not summertime. Ask a resident how we live here. Answers will be various yet the same. Life is different here than "up north" or "out west". Enjoy the gifts of God, we do!Forget about what you should do and just live and try not to be rigid. The sun is shining. Look up and smile. We do.

Here’s a post about how I survived certain situations. I am going to ask what you would have done?


Here’s a  post about how I survived certain situations.  I am going to ask what you would have done?

I am not perfect but most of these situations I survived where most would have cracked up.

I am going to be writing about years 1984 to about 1997.   I think  I am going to give about 15 to 10 examples of difficult situations that people face everyday.

For starters:  It was about 1989 and I was moving from Tampa area to Orlando near Disney for a newswriting job.  Because I chose not to have a credito cardo with a $1000 bill owed to Macy’s ,   like I saw some Latin lady have.  (My husband is a lawyer and we don’t spendo that kind of money at Christmas. )    I chose not to have any credit cards because I knew that I would be behind and could not afford it.

I had an old Honda car because I didn’t need to impress my friends because they didn’t care.  I was gaining experience in journalism.  So after towing the U-haul with all my stuff,  and after all the fussing to get to Interstate 4 from Tampa to go to Orlando,  where my new job was at the time,  the old car broke down right on the highway. It overheated.  But my then best friend and then lawyer boyfriend and now lawyer husband,  had the other moving boxes in his semi new car,  a red Daytona,  so one of us had to walk three miles to a pay phone to call family to get the car towed.   There were no cell phones at the time.

I got there finally.  I also got my car fixed.  Again,  I didn’t have a cell phone but being stuck on the emotional side of the road,  I didn’t go to the bar to drink.  I dealt with it.   We had to walk to get help.  I think it made our then friendship stronger.

Next in 1986,  I was up visiting friends in the north in Pennsylvania and West Virginia.   I had to come home and drive by myself 1500 miles home by myself,  a then single woman.  There were no cell phones.   And there was no room to complain.  I dealt with it and did it.  I had a 1985 Mustang though.

I will have to think of a few more.  But I did what I had to do to get experience and tried not to give up. That is how I got almost 20 years of experience in writing.

I was writing when some of you were drinking sippy cups.  We used to develop film  the old fashioned way.  And that was not digital.

Later.

Author: findmeinfloridaagain

I am a middle aged lady who is married 16 years. I grew up here in the Tampa Bay area. I am from NYC and LongIsland. I met my Chicago husband here. We have many adventures here and consider most viewpoints and love dialogue on all topics. Dialogue brings understanding and understanding brings hope.

Comments are closed.