Find Me in Florida Again.

Welcome to Florida during another one of balmy Winter seasons! This is the season where we enjoy balmy Florida sunsets and sunrises, depending on which side of the state you are on. Weather during December, January, Feb., and March is 40s at night, and 60s and 70s during the day. Residents steer clear of crowded Themeparks during the holidays. We have sense. Don't say we didn't warn you. This is not summertime. Ask a resident how we live here. Answers will be various yet the same. Life is different here than "up north" or "out west". Enjoy the gifts of God, we do!Forget about what you should do and just live and try not to be rigid. The sun is shining. Look up and smile. We do.

Update on what is going on in Foster to Adopt world here. It is Advent. Nothing is going to happen until after Christmas and New Year’s.


 

 

I hate to wait but it is Advent.  

And there is  a lot of waiting around here.  The social worker came last week and I had to put everything in safety mode.  I wish all the pregnant women had to go through this. There has to be safety locks on everything .  

Why?  We are going to be foster parents with the hope of adopting eventually.  In Florida,  everything is private community care which means all agencies are privatized and run by private entities and not our state, but since they must follow state rules,  there are strict standards of what is acceptable and not acceptable in getting ready for little kids.  

Cribs cannot be near a window, cannot have a baby crib bumper,  all medicine has to be locked up in a locked box that would make any safe look small.  All cabinets in the kitchen have to have safety latches on them. All stove burners have to be either covered or taken off and put up and safety latched.  Pools have to have an alarm and be approved.  

All cleaning products have to be approved and put in a locked cabinet with a key.   Shampoos have to be put up in the bathroom.  All cords have to be locked.  All electrical outlets have to be covered.  

Hot water has to be no hotter than 120 degrees.  All fridge temps have to be colder than 40 degrees.  Everything has to be clean at all times. So I had the carpet cleaning people come in last week and do the living room rug and hallway rug because it was dirty.  All beer,  wine and alcohol has to be locked up in a seperate fridge in the parent’s room.  And they don’t want you really have any in the house, period.  

We had to go out and  get a fire extinguisher. And the one we got,  she had to get a receipt and take a picture of to prove that we had one.  And we had to get a first aid kit.  She had to take a picture of that also.  

In a matter of speaking,  we are way more prepared than most.   We are older and more educated.  

All this is going on while  we are dealing with clearing my husband’s Father’s estate and cleaning out a house that he left us. We just have to renovate it and that is all.  It is a four bedroom three bath house with a pool. After the renovations,  we are going to try and sell it and look for our own or maybe build our own.  I don’t want to reveal no mortgage, but that is the whole truth of it.  There is none.  Not sorry.  

To top it all off,  I am starting a new job next month at the same time.  I am getting ready for that — early. 

No problem and no emotional freaking out allowed.  

O yeah,  our day care is paid for here.  I have to look for that this week.  

I know I am not supposed to work according to some perverted Christians, but getting more experience is just as important to me as leaning in and being a leader in my writing and educational field.   I want to go forward and not backwards as some ladies have chosen to do.   They are going to expect me to pay for them in 2030 because they sat home and did nothing.  

Forget it folks.  I am ready.  Bring on January.  I can wait through Advent and Christmas.  We have been waiting for 30 years.  I owe this to infertility and self control.  Nice,  eh? 

 

 

 

Author: findmeinfloridaagain

I am a middle aged lady who is married 16 years. I grew up here in the Tampa Bay area. I am from NYC and LongIsland. I met my Chicago husband here. We have many adventures here and consider most viewpoints and love dialogue on all topics. Dialogue brings understanding and understanding brings hope.

Comments are closed.