Find Me in Florida Again.

Welcome to Florida during another one of balmy Winter seasons! This is the season where we enjoy balmy Florida sunsets and sunrises, depending on which side of the state you are on. Weather during December, January, Feb., and March is 40s at night, and 60s and 70s during the day. Residents steer clear of crowded Themeparks during the holidays. We have sense. Don't say we didn't warn you. This is not summertime. Ask a resident how we live here. Answers will be various yet the same. Life is different here than "up north" or "out west". Enjoy the gifts of God, we do!Forget about what you should do and just live and try not to be rigid. The sun is shining. Look up and smile. We do.

Here are some thoughts today. It is two weeks after Papa Stark’s passing and the holidays are around the corner here.


I have  to admit loosing someone is not easy, even when they have lived a long life.  And stuff like this usually happens after helping to take care of someone. So here it is about two weeks later:  half the things on my list are done.  And not only that:  the holidays are around the corner.   My motivation is still high but it is a stretch to get it there .   I have a list to keep me going for all the things I have to do. Saturday we are going to take a ride to get oranges:  an annual thing for us.  This got put off due to Papa in law’s passing.  But being that it is later than we usually go,  we should get some nice citrus when we make that trip across the state to Vero Beach Wabasso, Florida.  Indian River fruit is sweet.  It is usually 5 bucks a bag or less for good oranges, tangerines and grapefruit.  And when you go to the stand, you have room for negotiation for the stuff they don’t want and can’t sell.  That stuff is still good but not good enough “to ship north.”   It still has some green on it. But that green goes when you get home after a day. Pictures of this trip later.  I am charging up my camcorder.  This is the one trip we make south every year.  After this, is tourist season and the holidays. But it hasn’t been easy for the past few days:  we still have to work and run  a law office and prepare to go back to writing and teaching next semester after the holidays. I have done other  jobs, but after getting my degrees this is what we do now. And what about foster parenting?  We are going to do this, except now we have a house to remodel and possibly sell.  Thanks Pops.  That was nice of you.  We are going to stay at our place until that is all over and then maybe look for another that we both can live with. Keep us in your thoughts and prayers. Why?  Papa in law will be interred next week in the cremation mausoleum at Calvary Catholic cemetery in Pinellas Park, Florida.  It is two weeks later and that is when they could fit us in.  Tomorrow is the Veterans Memorial service for him by the nursing home staff at Bay Pines Medical Center in St. Petersburg. My mom is still living out in the burbs where I grew up.  My husband was the youngest of three.  Now they are all gone. I loved my Father Pop in law as I used to call him.  I loved his humor and the way he loved my cooking.   He was very generous and made me laugh. Readers on Twitter and here: keep us in your thoughts and prayers.  I am hoping and praying for wisdom to know what to do. Thanks for doing this ahead of time.

Author: findmeinfloridaagain

I am a middle aged lady who is married 16 years. I grew up here in the Tampa Bay area. I am from NYC and LongIsland. I met my Chicago husband here. We have many adventures here and consider most viewpoints and love dialogue on all topics. Dialogue brings understanding and understanding brings hope.

Comments are closed.