Find Me in Florida Again.

Welcome to Florida during another one of balmy Winter seasons! This is the season where we enjoy balmy Florida sunsets and sunrises, depending on which side of the state you are on. Weather during December, January, Feb., and March is 40s at night, and 60s and 70s during the day. Residents steer clear of crowded Themeparks during the holidays. We have sense. Don't say we didn't warn you. This is not summertime. Ask a resident how we live here. Answers will be various yet the same. Life is different here than "up north" or "out west". Enjoy the gifts of God, we do!Forget about what you should do and just live and try not to be rigid. The sun is shining. Look up and smile. We do.

Saying goodbye to my Godmother was not easy yesterday. I am not Cinderella but this story is worth a must read for a smile this week.


This is  a deeply personal post.

My Aunt who always read my blog died last week.   She was my acting Godmother.  I used to joke with her that she was  the Godmommy of the “Bibbity Bobity boo.”

Yeah,  right.

So off to the Funeral I went yesterday morning.   Now I am not as weird religious as others and I don’t care what others believe.

But I have to share this.  Tuesday night  I looked into my closet and said,  “I need something cheap to wear to the funeral. I am on a serious below $30 budget.”

So, off I went  to two stores.  They had two designer dresses on the clearance rack at one store.  At the other, it was slim pickings.   But  both stores were above my chosen budget price range.  I don’t believe in spending serious money, when the manufacturers don’t pay these seamstresses at these foreign countries a FAIR WAGE.   This happens while they get rich and treat them like CRAP.

So,  I went to the car thinking,  I might    just have to wear what I have that I can pick over that is black.

Come on,  I said to myself.   I can do better than this.    Before turning toward home,   I saw another store that usually has  name brands at a discount price.

Last chance.    Half jokingly,  I said to myself laughing,  “Ok,  if you made it Auntie,  you are and have  been my Godmother,  like in Cinderella,  go go go bibbity bobity boo.  I need a dress for the funeral I don’t want to go to and I am sorry to have to say it is yours.   Hey I’ll remember you this way.  Go out with a bang. ”

Knowing her humor and all,  I thought that was funny.  And I had  about $27 to spend with change.  At the rate I was going, there was no way I was going to find a dress that I could look good and not frumpy.  I wanted to look good for family members I hadn’t see in years.

I needed a miracle.   I was laughing about it.  I am not a heavy lady but the racks were picked over.  You know how it is.  All the sale dresses were gone.

“Uh,  I don’t know if this works, ”  I said under my breath, “bring on the coincidence or miracle, but do something.  Nothing in those other stores fit me or my budget. Bring it on.  Hey if you made it to paradise or whatever,  be a good Fairy Godmother and get me this stinking dress that will fit me and my budget.”

So in I went shaking my head.  And around and around the rack I went.   Still,  I found nothing until I saw one dress that was a bit over budget.  Off I went to try this on.  I knew this was not a winner.

The attendant was smiling. “Hey of all those dresses you are going to put back, could you see if you have anything in my size under $30?”

She handed me a dress in my Misses size and off I went into the room to try it on.

It fit!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And I had Nine West designer shoes  to match perfectly with this knit jersey dress that was black and hounds tooth with a nice belt.

Mmmmm,  could it be a nice coincidence, miracle or  just a good case of resourceful BIBBITY BOBBITY BOO?

I just love being Cinderella in any way I can.

I don’t care if anyone doesn’t believe.   I think it is a combination of things that merge together and work out for the better.  I could smile again and know that I could see family even in this unfortunate circumstance.

And I had to laugh,  because if I had to pin this on my Aunt’s memory,  this,  I joked to myself was something she would do.  She went shopping with me a whole lot because she had two sons who hated to shop.  She never got a little girl.  I loved saying I am leaving the store without anything and just then out of nowhere she would pounce a dress that I didn’t like.  Usually,  it was less frumpy than even I would have chosen.  It was very classy.  It was my Aunt’s trademark.

“Get in there,” she would say, “shut up an try this on.”

So I did.

So Auntie,  you went out with a bang.  Wave that wand and in heaven say, “Bibbity Bobbity boo.”

I am going to miss you.   Can we do this again?    You are good at this.

 

 

Author: findmeinfloridaagain

I am a middle aged lady who is married 16 years. I grew up here in the Tampa Bay area. I am from NYC and LongIsland. I met my Chicago husband here. We have many adventures here and consider most viewpoints and love dialogue on all topics. Dialogue brings understanding and understanding brings hope.

Comments are closed.