Find Me in Florida Again.

Welcome to Florida during another one of balmy Winter seasons! This is the season where we enjoy balmy Florida sunsets and sunrises, depending on which side of the state you are on. Weather during December, January, Feb., and March is 40s at night, and 60s and 70s during the day. Residents steer clear of crowded Themeparks during the holidays. We have sense. Don't say we didn't warn you. This is not summertime. Ask a resident how we live here. Answers will be various yet the same. Life is different here than "up north" or "out west". Enjoy the gifts of God, we do!Forget about what you should do and just live and try not to be rigid. The sun is shining. Look up and smile. We do.

Florida Vacation Advice from a Semi Almost Native = me.


I think after 10 years I owe my readers and people who just so happen to pop on here some serious advanced vacation advice.  But I do that slowly because I live here.

Do not come here in Winter.  They charge you more. While you may have to put up with the rain and heat,  it is better to come in summer.  It is cheaper. Once you have that,  you have it:  your Florida dream vacation.  But  there is a right way and a wrong way to plan this economically.

You could do the regular beach thing like all other people without imagination.  Or you could do it my way:  on the cheap and not get taken and have bills after this. 

Here’s how to do that:

1.  Go to a state park that is near a beach.  Here’s the link to fine one  

http://www.floridastateparks.org/findapark/img/floridastateparks_districtmap.png

But If I had my choice of all of them,  I would take a cabin for $100 a night in the Northeast section. http://www.floridastateparks.org/findapark/district-northeast.cfm

Do stay in a cabin that the Florida state park system provides because it is cheaper than a motel or hotel.

Here’s the link:  http://www.floridastateparks.org/staythenight/cabins/default.cfm  Remember, pets are not allowed in cabins but all or most of them are air conditioned and have modern conveniences like dishwashers and kitchens and are near other attractions.

Forget the mouse as we call him in Florida.  Most of us semi-natives like to snorkel or go tubing.

http://www.floridastateparks.org/thingstodo/activities.cfm?activity=41#activity41

For snorkeling you can go anywhere:  http://www.floridastateparks.org/thingstodo/activities.cfm?activity=37#activity37

But here are the springs:

YOU MUST DO THIS BEFORE YOU DIE: 

[YOUTUBE=http://youtu.be/J8BBrK_D3kk]

But there have been readers on Twitter that have asked me what are my favorite beaches?  Well,  I usually don’t go for meat market type beaches because most are bland imitations of up north beaches.  Those beaches remind of overworked establishments that are put up in a hurry without much thought. They are usually very crowded.

Beaches to a semi native is a real beach without much going on around them.  We know how to get away from Everyone.   It is not like some wild beach where teens are going wild because they live in the middle of nowhere and must must must  be bad.  Hey, we live here and have people to face after it is over with.   We are very laid back here.    

Good beaches are here:

And don’t forget the alligators.

But if you are like me and have done just about everything and want to burn something on the credit card this is the best.  Pay $150  for boat fare to go camping on the Dry Tortugas in the  Florida Keys.  

But go ahead do the usual without much imagination.  You WILL miss out on all this.  But take my advice: don’t do that. 

Author: findmeinfloridaagain

I am a middle aged lady who is married 16 years. I grew up here in the Tampa Bay area. I am from NYC and LongIsland. I met my Chicago husband here. We have many adventures here and consider most viewpoints and love dialogue on all topics. Dialogue brings understanding and understanding brings hope.

Comments are closed.