Find Me in Florida Again.

Welcome to Florida during another one of balmy Winter seasons! This is the season where we enjoy balmy Florida sunsets and sunrises, depending on which side of the state you are on. Weather during December, January, Feb., and March is 40s at night, and 60s and 70s during the day. Residents steer clear of crowded Themeparks during the holidays. We have sense. Don't say we didn't warn you. This is not summertime. Ask a resident how we live here. Answers will be various yet the same. Life is different here than "up north" or "out west". Enjoy the gifts of God, we do!Forget about what you should do and just live and try not to be rigid. The sun is shining. Look up and smile. We do.

I like Catholic Digest, but the CATHOLIC DIGEST COMMENT BOARD moderator BANNED ME AT THE MENTION OF FRANCISCAN UNIVERSITY RELIGIOUS ED DEPARTMENT ANNND THEIR RELIGIOUS EDUCATION STUFF HOW STUPID.


  • What is wrong with posting that Franciscan has excellent sources for relig ed? And you didn’t even mention CREATIVE CATECHIST HERE MADE BY THE BAYARD PEOPLE, who pays the bills around here. It is petty to ban me for that. And yes, it is going on my blog. Ignatius press is another good source for stuff too. What amount of hypocrisy is this? I am not flaming just asking. I am just here to prove that you all are not about doing what and how you say you are. I am also here to prove that this Faith and Family blog is defunct and this is a bad attempt to carry something that was tied to the sex scandal which was tied to the now near defunct Circle Media, once owned by the Legionaires. Well honies, the alumni association and various others from MY ALMA MATER KNOW ABOUT THIS NOW. I have evidence that you don’t want to really learn about your faith. If I did something bleh on my blog 300 twitter folks would call me on the carpet for it. Good. But banning me because I gave advice that made you uncomfortable? Not good. Go ahead and ban me again. IT IS GOING ON MY BLOG READ BY 300 PEOPLE. This F&F agenda is not good. It is about ruining the 75 year old brand of Catholic Digest which IS A WONDERFUL ONLINE MAG AND REGULAR MAG. You all are ruining it. I don’t think F&F is necessary.Posted on Jun 21st, 2013 at 5:01 PM by unknown

And   below is what they banned.  What is with these ladies?   IT IS RUINING THEiR 75 YEAR OLD BRAND.  It is getting very old.

Read what I have posted.   

*********************************************************************************************

  • Anne, is your hub Catholic? And it is unclear what you mean by too evangelical? Do you mean you are forced to answer things you are uncomfortable with or what do you mean?Posted on Jun 21st, 2013 at 12:23 PM by unknownPosted on Jun 21st, 2013 at 3:48 PM by unknown
  • Call the religious education theology department up at Franciscan University. Ask the same q. to an expert. They are very nice. 740 283-3771. Give her a history of the Bible and help her understand why things are the way they are. Ask them for that. Ask for Dr. Schreck he is very nice. He does apologetics and wrote a book Catholic and Christian many years ago. You can get it on Amazon for the reprints are cheap. I hope I helped.Posted on Jun 21st, 2013 at 12:39 PM by unknownPosted on Jun 21st, 2013 at 3:49 PM by unknown

**************************************************************************************************

 

Rebecca Teti

Comments

  • I have been teaching 8th grade Faith Formation classes for five years and have seen a decline in number of students attending. I would like to implement some kind of program with parents since they have the responsibility of making sure their child receives their Catholic faith. Has anyone done something like this or have any ideas?Posted on Jun 21st, 2013 at 8:32 AM by unknown
  • Unknown, our parish has what they call “Whole Community Catechesis” to promote lifelong faith formation. About 6 times a year we have intergenerational gatherings with age-appropriate breakout sessions. I’m not sure if that’s what you’re looking for, but it’s pretty popular in our church. And a question of my own — I am looking for a Catholic daily devotional that I can read with my 13-year-old daughter. All I can seem to find are geared toward middle-aged women (like me!) or are too evangelical for my comfort. Is there anything out there for Catholic girls?Posted on Jun 21st, 2013 at 11:33 AM by Anne in NC
  • Yes, my husband is Catholic (not sure how that pertains to my question, though). I have a couple of Christian devotionals that are okay but are not really what I am looking for — they use different Biblical translations (e.g., KJV, NLT), never mention the saints, and seem a bit shallow to me. I just want something I can read with my daughter without having to discuss nuances and interpretations at length.Posted on Jun 21st, 2013 at 12:33 PM by Anne in NC
  • Have you tried The Word Among Us @ wau.org for the daily devotional?Posted on Jun 21st, 2013 at 1:44 PM by Tessy
  • Hi there! My 4th child is 3 1/2 and cannot hold a pencil. The others didn’t have this issue so I didn’t have to teach it. I keep trying to show him but he can’t seem to get it. Any advice?Posted on Jun 21st, 2013 at 2:22 PM by KMB
  • UNKNOWN: My sister’s parish used a program of family catechesis called Generations of Faith. It might be worth checking into. I think a huge problem with children failing to come for parish-based religious education is that their own parents are poorly catechized themselves. ANNE IN NC: Have you tried using the Magnificat with your daughter? I have several friends who used it & really love it. We use a monthly journal/devotional called Theosis: Spiritual Reflections from the Christian East, put out by Eastern Christian Publications. Our teens (13, 15, 17) like it. KMB: One of our sons has an odd(?) way of holding his pencil, but he has nice penmanship…so I don’t worry too much about it. As a leftie, I was always being told that I was holding my writing utensil incorrectly. Since your little guy is just 3 1/2, I think you still have plenty of time to work on his pencil grasp. Have you tried one of those triangular rubber pencil grips? I recall children using those when we were young.Posted on Jun 21st, 2013 at 2:49 PM by Patricia
  • Anne, is your hub Catholic? And it is unclear what you mean by too evangelical? Do you mean you are forced to answer things you are uncomfortable with or what do you mean?Posted on Jun 21st, 2013 at 12:23 PM by unknownPosted on Jun 21st, 2013 at 3:48 PM by unknown
  • Call the religious education theology department up at Franciscan University. Ask the same q. to an expert. They are very nice. 740 283-3771. Give her a history of the Bible and help her understand why things are the way they are. Ask them for that. Ask for Dr. Schreck he is very nice. He does apologetics and wrote a book Catholic and Christian many years ago. You can get it on Amazon for the reprints are cheap. I hope I helped.Posted on Jun 21st, 2013 at 12:39 PM by unknownPosted on Jun 21st, 2013 at 3:49 PM by unknown
  • Yes, my husband is Catholic (not sure how that pertains to my question, though). I have a couple of Christian devotionals that are okay but are not really what I am looking for — they use different Biblical translations (e.g., KJV, NLT), never mention the saints, and seem a bit shallow to me. I just want something I can read with my daughter without having to discuss nuances and interpretations at length.Posted on Jun 21st, 2013 at 12:33 PM by Anne in NC
  • Have you tried The Word Among Us @ wau.org for the daily devotional?Posted on Jun 21st, 2013 at 1:44 PM by Tessy
  • Hi there! My 4th child is 3 1/2 and cannot hold a pencil. The others didn’t have this issue so I didn’t have to teach it. I keep trying to show him but he can’t seem to get it. Any advice?Posted on Jun 21st, 2013 at 2:22 PM by KMB
  • UNKNOWN: My sister’s parish used a program of family catechesis called Generations of Faith. It might be worth checking into. I think a huge problem with children failing to come for parish-based religious education is that their own parents are poorly catechized themselves. ANNE IN NC: Have you tried using the Magnificat with your daughter? I have several friends who used it & really love it. We use a monthly journal/devotional called Theosis: Spiritual Reflections from the Christian East, put out by Eastern Christian Publications. Our teens (13, 15, 17) like it. KMB: One of our sons has an odd(?) way of holding his pencil, but he has nice penmanship…so I don’t worry too much about it. As a leftie, I was always being told that I was holding my writing utensil incorrectly. Since your little guy is just 3 1/2, I think you still have plenty of time to work on his pencil grasp. Have you tried one of those triangular rubber pencil grips? I recall children using those when we were young.Posted on Jun 21st, 2013 at 2:49 PM by Patricia
Author: findmeinfloridaagain

I am a middle aged lady who is married 16 years. I grew up here in the Tampa Bay area. I am from NYC and LongIsland. I met my Chicago husband here. We have many adventures here and consider most viewpoints and love dialogue on all topics. Dialogue brings understanding and understanding brings hope.

Comments are closed.