Find Me in Florida Again.

Welcome to Florida during another one of balmy Winter seasons! This is the season where we enjoy balmy Florida sunsets and sunrises, depending on which side of the state you are on. Weather during December, January, Feb., and March is 40s at night, and 60s and 70s during the day. Residents steer clear of crowded Themeparks during the holidays. We have sense. Don't say we didn't warn you. This is not summertime. Ask a resident how we live here. Answers will be various yet the same. Life is different here than "up north" or "out west". Enjoy the gifts of God, we do!Forget about what you should do and just live and try not to be rigid. The sun is shining. Look up and smile. We do.

They at the CATHOLIC DIGEST AKA REBECCA TETI comment board banned the MASS READINGS ON THE BOARD TODAY. What kind of Catholic board is this?


HERE’S A PREVIOUS POST THAT WAS BANNED ON HERE.  
https://findmeinfloridaagain.wordpress.com/2013/06/19/heres-the-litmus-test-of-being-a-real-catholic-if-they-the-comment-board-at-cd-ban-the-church-readings-on-their-board-i-question-their-meanness-and-integrity/

http://www.catholicdigest.com/blog//354?action=view&id=353#comments

Jeanne, I think the comment board is slow because the newer format is simply not as user-friendly when it comes to leaving comments & following up on specific topics. As Rebecca Teti commented earlier, they are working on that. Honesty, I find the troll thing insulting, too…but I think people are at a loss when it comes to some of your comments & accusations. I’ve found that the women (& a few men) who post here are fairly broad-based when it comes to the differences in our families, how we live out our Faith in our daily lives, how we educate our children, what our interests are, etc. Over & above those differences, our common Catholic Faith unites us. I think it is safe to say that most of us who post here do so not because we are seeking friendship but because we enjoy the various & diverse input of women with whom we share a love for the Catholic Faith. I don’t agree with the opinions of all who post here, nor am I required to…but I can do so in charity. I am sure that I have posted things that others don’t agree with. I know of at least one time that I unintentionally hurt someone’s feelings…for which I apologized. On the flip-side…I’ve also appreciated & benefited from the comments & advice of many who’ve posted here over the past few years. I am truly sorry that you feel the way you do about those who use this forum. Praying that God grants you His peace that we all desire. God bless–

  • Posted on Jun 19th, 2013 at 1:14 PM by Patricia

Jeanne – Those who see no need for this comment board are under no obligation to participate in the discussions here.

  • Posted on Jun 19th, 2013 at 1:46 PM by Marie

But why have it? Why can’t you have real friends? Don’t you have real friends? Here’s my point: I am sick of laughing at things that as a cultural Floridan in the SE would see as weird. It is a long list and if you read my blog ever, then you know that some of these things are well, off the wall to me. Why have this ? Real friends are better. Getting to know one’s parish is way better. You all are not my friends. I would never ever vent to you all. I don’t know you. Life is better when you have real people and they get to know you on a real basis, not on a comment board. Venting is good, but in confession NOT HERE.
Posted on Jun 19th, 2013 at 2:04 PM by Jeanne in Tampa who is sick of being called a troll.

And you call writing to friends who you don’t know as FRIENDS? HOW do you know they are real people and who they are who they say they are? You can’t SEE THEM. And you shouldn’t vent to strangers. Don’t you have real friends?

  • Posted on Jun 19th, 2013 at 2:38 PM by Jeanne in Tampa who is sick of being called a troll.

Jeanne, I think we’d all agree that virtual, online ‘relationships’ are no substitute for real, in-the-flesh, human interactions. That being said, we can’t assume that all who post here are fortunate enough to have faithful Catholic friends whom they can go to for input, advice, venting, etc. Even for those who do have such friends, some may prefer an open (& anonymous) forum with more diverse opinions & varying points of view. Although those who post here may not fit the traditional definition of ‘friendship’, there is no reason that discussions here can’t occur in both honesty & charity. If some need to vent, so be it. I think the confessional is for the confessing our sins, not venting (which often has to do more with our frustration with the faults of others rather than our own faults).

  • Posted on Jun 19th, 2013 at 2:42 PM by Patricia

In full disclosure, I deleted a lot of comments that no longer made sense once another editor had deleted what were apparently a bunch of Jeanne in Tampa’s comments (which I didn’t see). So there’s a gap. I sincerely apologize to Jeanne that “troll” hurt your feelings and to the general audience if you’ve been scandalized by my letting “troll” stand. I don’t consider it insulting because it has nothing to do with fairy tale trolls (ugly, clumsy, stupid — that WOULD be insulting). It comes from “trolling” which comes from “patroling,” meaning hanging out in search of…. In internet slang it has come to mean someone trolling for arguments in comment boxes — a person who comes to a comment box not to dialogue but to tell people off or take over the conversation with off-topic, or deliberately inflammatory remarks. Nothing worse is implied!

  • Posted on Jun 19th, 2013 at 2:47 PM by Rebecca Teti

Jeanne, On an unrelated topic…I meant to ask how the foster/adoption process is going with the child(ren) you’ve posted about becoming part of your family in the past?? I hope all is well in that respect! — I think most people who post here do so in good faith that other posters (whom they don’t necessarily consider personal friends) are being honest & genuine in what they say.

  • Posted on Jun 19th, 2013 at 2:49 PM by Patricia

Thanks Rebecca. Please feel free to delete anything I’ve posted that would no longer make sense due to them being in response to deleted posts. I appreciate your clarification on the troll term. I know the patrolling definition is the usage that is intended…it is just sad to see that occur. I feel bad that these discussions have gone in the direction that they have. God bless–

  • Posted on Jun 19th, 2013 at 2:59 PM by Patricia

Patricia are you in my parish or close personal friends? No. Thanks for whatever prayers you are praying for me. I don’t believe children should be on blogs or have FB accounts. I don’t also believe they should be on blogs. Nor should their pictures be on blogs. Privacy is important. So, unless you are coming to Florida I am not answering that. Go ask the clergy about that personal friend thing. You are part of the body of Christ in the Church but not a personal friend. If you want to share your PERSONAL STUFF WITH strangers, then that is your whatever. Move to Florida and find out. I think kids should have a regular life and well, you are not in my regular life. If you want to share all your personal information where people can know you sex life and how bad you whine on here or anywhere else, then you are fair game for anything anyone writes. I DON’T THINK THIS IS NECESSARY FOR A NATIONAL MAGAZINE. I also don’t think it is necessary for you all to post silly things on here where you are open for whatever elsewhere. I have often come on here and posted FYI readings. from the USCCB and gotten BANNED. That’s just the small of it. I don’t have to share my ops with you all nor ask for opinion from people who are not experts in most of the stuff they say or give advice about things they should go to a doctor or any other professional. I trust authority, not people who are not an authority. Why vent to total strangers? Why would you tell your life story to someone you do not know in an elevator? SAME THING? WHY IS THIS COMMENT BOARD NECESSARY?

  • Posted on Jun 19th, 2013 at 3:19 PM by Jeanne in Tampa who is sick of being called a troll.
Author: findmeinfloridaagain

I am a middle aged lady who is married 16 years. I grew up here in the Tampa Bay area. I am from NYC and LongIsland. I met my Chicago husband here. We have many adventures here and consider most viewpoints and love dialogue on all topics. Dialogue brings understanding and understanding brings hope.

Comments are closed.